US Democracy

US Democracy


The federal government of the United States is the national government of the United States, a federal republic in North America, composed of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories and several island possessions.

The federal government is composed of three distinct branches: legislativeexecutive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the president and the federal courts, respectively. The powers and duties of these branches are further defined by acts of Congress, including the creation of executive departments and courts inferior to the Supreme Court.

The full name of the republic is “United States of America“. No other name appears in the Constitution, and this is the name that appears on money, in treaties, and in legal cases to which it is a party. The terms “Government of the United States of America” or “United States Government” are often used in official documents to represent the federal government as distinct from the states collectively. The terms “Federal” and “National” in government agency or program names generally indicate affiliation with the federal government.


Legislative Branch

Executive Branch

Judicial Branch

Current Issues

Voting Rights

Climate Change

Womens Rights

Public Health

Innovation and the US Government

Search results

MIT Review

What the U.S. Innovation and Competition Act Gets Right (and What It Gets Wrong)


Internet & Search


See Also

MIT Review   Federally Supported Innovations: 22 Examples of Major Advances that stem from federal research support


Skip to toolbar